FRAGMENTS

The central theme of my collection of sculptures,"Fragments", is the human in both physical and psychological dimensions, past, present and future.

At first glance, we realise to what extent our brain will actually fill in the gaps between each fragment so as to give the work sense and completeness.

Then, as we go deeper into the concept, "Fragments" encourages us to spend some thought on our absences, forgetfulness, fragility, on our flaws and our wounds - but also on our acts, our memory and our future.

We are beings that are constantly becoming. We are the fruit of our own history, fluctuating like our own heartbeats between physical presence and the meanders of our unconscious. This "blank"/"full" pattern of our existence is essential, forging our equilibrium and what we become. Throughout our lives, it constitutes the silent driving force behind our superficial or profound transformations.

Stems, instead of umbilical cords, link each fragment to the monolithic base that symbolises humanity, smooth, uniform on the surface, but extremely rough in the cross-sections. The stems are sometimes rectilinear and strict in shape, sometimes curved and sensual, and they  give us a chance to glimpse the identity of the face. Some of them, in a line, help us to make a mental reconstitution of the head.

The making of these sculptures is very complex, because it requires great precision - as much in the anatomical realism of each piece of the sculpture as in the relative positioning of all the pieces together. If there were the slightest imperfection, spectators would immediately focus on that and their imagination wouldn't be stimulated.

Other variations already occur to me and new Fragments will come to life soon, in larger formats to emphasise the intensity of their meaning.

Fragment 7 (Bronze, H47cm)

Fragment 5 (Bronze, H47cm)

Fragment 4 (Bronze, H40cm)

Fragment 3 (Bronze, H46cm)

Fragment 2 (Bronze, H26cm)

Fragment 1 (Terra Cotta, H60cm)

1 vote. Average rating: 5.00 / 5.

Add a comment

You're using an AdBlock like software. Disable it to allow submit.

FRAGMENTS

"Fragments" est une collection de sculptures ayant l'humain pour thème central dans ses dimensions physiques et psychologiques, passées, présentes et futures.

 

Lors du premier contact, nous découvrons à quel point notre cerveau reconstitue de lui-même les vides entre chaque morceau en rendant l'œuvre pleine et accessible.

 

Puis, lorsque nous rentrons plus en profondeur dans le concept, "Fragment" nous invite à une réflexion d'une part, sur nos absences, nos oublis, nos fragilités, nos failles et nos blessures et d'autres part sur nos actes, notre mémoire et nos futurs. 

Nous sommes des êtres en perpétuel devenir, à chaque instant, fruit de notre histoire, fluctuants comme nos pulsations cardiaques, entre présences physiques et vagabondages inconscients.  Nos « pleins » et nos « vides », essentiels, génèrent notre équilibre et ce que nous devenons. Tout au long de nos vies, ils sont les moteurs silencieux de nos transformations superficielles ou profondes.

 

Des tiges, à l'instar de cordons ombilicaux, relient chaque fragment à la base monolithique symbole de l'humanité, lisse et uniforme en surface et aux milles rugosités sur les tranches. Leurs formes, tantôt rectilignes et strictes, tantôt courbes et sensuelles, nous permettent d'entrevoir qui est ce visage. Certaines d’entre elles, d’une ligne, nous aident à reconstituer mentalement le reste de la tête.

 

La réalisation de ces Sculptures est très complexe car elle nécessite une grande précision tant dans la réalité anatomique sculpturale de chaque morceau que dans leur positionnement relatif les uns par rapport aux autres. Sans cette exigence, le spectateur se focaliserait immédiatement sur les imperfections et l’imaginaire ne s’enclencherait pas.

 

Déjà, de nombreuses déclinaisons m’apparaissent et de nouveaux Fragments verront prochainement le jour dans des formats plus grands renforçant, de fait, l’intensité du sens.

Fragment 7 (Bronze, H47cm)

Fragment 5 (Bronze, H47cm)

Fragment 4 (Bronze, H40cm)

Fragment 3 (Bronze, H46cm)

Fragment 2 (Bronze, H26cm)

Fragment 1 (Terre cuite, H60cm)

1 vote. Moyenne 5.00 sur 5.

Ajouter un commentaire

Vous utilisez un logiciel de type AdBlock, qui bloque le service de captchas publicitaires utilisé sur ce site. Pour pouvoir envoyer votre message, désactivez Adblock.

×